RSS

BJK’s AMV Roundup #3 – Believe In The Me Who Believes In You

26 Feb

Since I got an MP3 player and realised that I can put AMVs on it and watch them in teeny-tiny perfecto-vision my intake of the things has increased substantially. Thus, BJK’S AMV Roundup #3 – Believe In The Me Who Believes In You was born—nay, forged.


Anime: One Piece
Song: Sam Tsui and Christina Grimmie – Just a Dream
Spoilerage: Moderate-High

If I heard this song on the radio or something I doubt I’d even notice it, except maybe to think “Gosh what a mediocre and immediately forgettable song”. Paired with One Piece, though, somehow it works. I’ve been thinking lately about why it is that I love AMVs so much, and I think what it comes down to is emotion. I am an emotion junkie, I can’t get enough of it, and the best AMVs are like a shot of pure emotion straight to the heart.

Best Selection: “If you’ve ever loved somebody put your hands up”, jeezy crizzy.


Anime: Suzumiya Haruhi No Shoushitsu
Song: One Republic – Good Life
Spoilerage: Medium-Rare

I cannot adequately explain why but this one really affected me. Maybe it’s because Disappearance is the best story to be told in the Haruhi series, maybe it’s because everything about it is so superbly done, maybe it’s because of the rather clever downplaying of Yuki.N, maybe it’s just everything. I love this AMV to pieces, it’s easily one of my top ten favourite ever.

Best Selection: I honestly can’t pick a single moment.


Anime: Various
Song: Underworld – To Heal
Spoilerage: Low

I really, really like this one. ‘Slow’ AMVs are pretty rare and when they do exist they often come off as … well, as kind of wishy-washy and ineffective, but this one just builds and builds until you feel like you could burst. It’s a little odd, but this really reminds me of the slow musical bits in LA Story, it affects me the same way.

I just wish it were longer.

Best Selection: A kiss beneath fireworks.


Anime: Kowarekake no Orgel
Song: Lifehouse – Sick Cycle Carousel
Spoilerage: High

Best Selection: … *sniff*


Anime: Ga-Rei -Zero-
Song: Breaking Benjamin – You Fight Me
Spoilerage: Moderate-High, probably

I haven’t watched Ga-Rei -Zero- but after seeing this AMV I think I might have to.


Anime: Bakemonogatari
Song: Boom Boom Satellites – Upside down, Finger Eleven – Paralyzer
Spoilerage: Medium?

Another AMV for an anime I haven’t watched. Sometimes I just like images and music juxtaposed in a pleasing way.

Best Selection: The ‘What Do You Mean It’s Not Awesome’ bit with the stapler near the start. 1:00 – 1:15 has something special about it, too.


Anime: Nichijou
Song: ????????????
Spoilerage: ?????????????????????

This one deserves kudos just for making Nichijou seem even weirder than it actually is.

Best Selection: Seriously, I would have thought that to be impossible.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Anime Madness

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
