RSS

State Of My Personal Indie Nation – January 2012 Edition

03 Feb

Okay! So, January. I rested a lot and did a little bit of work. Numbers? Numbers.

January 2012 Sales

Charlotte Powers: Power Down – 41
Charlotte Powers: Power Play – 22
Charlotte Powers: Hidden Power – 26
The Undying Apathy Of Imogen Shroud – 7
Miya Black, Pirate Princess I: Adventure Dawns – 3
Miya Black, Pirate Princess II: Freedom & Responsibility – 3
Miya Black, Pirate Princess III: Fractured Lives – 0
Resonance Book One: Birds Of Passage – 16
The Boy & Little Witch – 4

Total – 122

Additionally, 18 borrows across titles.

So! Down a little from December but that’s to be expected. To be honest I haven’t been so interested in sales lately, I’m not sure why. Getting them is great, of course, and I’m happy to get over a hundred in a month, but selling books just doesn’t seem as important as hearing from people who enjoyed them—am I getting jaded? I guess because my numbers are pretty low compared to a lot of other people, it’s hard to get really excited about them. I appreciate every single sale I get and still get a little boost whenever I see a number go up, but … I don’t know. I guess also I’m concentrating on things that I can control, like actually writing, and sales do tend to take a back seat when I’m in that kind of mood.

Anyway! Goals for January were … actually I didn’t have any. The end/start of a year is always a low time for me, everything catches up and I spend most days just resting, but I’m coming back into myself now. Still taking it easy but starting to build some steam, Miya Black IV is almost ready to shove out of the nest, just a couple more proofs and I’ll be happy to publish it, and I’ve started actually writing Bright Battle Story: Tactics Heart as my #60KinFeb challenge (my principle fear with that one is that it’s just going to be so absurdly long, I’m only a quarter way through my outline for the first episode and it’s like 6,000 words already, if every episode is 20k then it’s going to be like 400,000 words long, eek). Resonance Book Two is slowly coming together, I’m almost in a place where I can finish the first draft of that. Charlotte Powers 4 needs more time alone, but it’s mostly written and I just have to figure some stuff out and maybe have an inspiration or two … in any case that’s for next month.

Actually, that’s a good idea, let’s sort out some goals:

February 2012 Goals
1 – Write at least 60k of Tactics Heart. (Which would be the first three episodes? Yeep.)
2 – Get Resonance Book Two first-drafted for the love of biscuits.
3 – Miya Black IV proofed and released.

The space I’m in right now, regarding writing … I have to admit that I feel a little distant from the whole publishing side of things. I feel like this is the time before anything has really happened, if that makes sense. Just preamble, prologue, the best is yet to come sort of thing. I am looking forward to getting Tactics Heart out there, I feel that it’s a really strong story with some great characters and that if it can find its audience it’s going to make people happy. Episodic structure is really fun, too, I actually found it hard to go back to a more traditional novel style afterwards.

Aaaaanyway, January was a slow month, but it always is. Plus I was in Japan for most of it, now that I’m back home I’m getting more settled.

As ever, onwards and upwards!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in My Personal Indie Nation

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “State Of My Personal Indie Nation – January 2012 Edition

  1. Grace

    February 25, 2012 at 13:52

    Your work is impressive. I just finish Resonance Book One. I could not put it down! I am so looking forward to Book Two and will check out some of your other books in the meantime, but please~ hurry! 🙂

     
    • Ben White

      February 25, 2012 at 14:06

      Thanks for the comment! I’m working on Resonance Book Two right now, I’m writing as fast as I can 🙂 I’m aiming for an April release, I definitely want to release it as soon as I possibly can.

       
  2. Andy

    March 12, 2012 at 12:55

    Miya Black, Pirate Princess IV: This Impossible World, This Impossible Girl

    Yay, at last.

    I’m exhausted after finishing Miya Black, Pirate Princess III: Fractured Lives

    @(–)@

     
  3. Loreto Weir

    June 16, 2012 at 03:13

    Loved Resonance book 1 and looking forward to book 2. Are you going to write A sequel to The Undying Apathy Of Imogen Shroud ? Love you style of writing ..ps. Why did you decide to use tough ass kicking girls as your main characters? I am guessing it might have something to do with being out numbered by females 3 to 1 in your family! ..lol…keep up the good work ..

     
    • Ben White

      June 16, 2012 at 11:24

      I’m slowly working on the Imogen Shroud sequel, but it’s not going to be ready any time soon. As for girls kicking arse, there are a lot of reasons but mostly they’re just a lot of fun to write. Plus there aren’t enough strong female characters out there. They have rarity value! Being surrounded by girls does help, I have to admit.

      Thanks for reading!

       

Leave a Reply

 
