RSS

Watching Anime So You Don’t Have To

18 Oct

I know I said I was just going to take things slowly and ease myself back into anime, but I say a lot of things. So, what have I been gorging myself on lately?

Puella Magi Madoka Magica
Slower and less compelling than I expected. If there wasn’t so much buzz around this one I might have given up on it already, as it is I’m taking it half an episode at a time, I think I’m up to episode three or four. So far I like Homura and can’t remember anyone else’s name.

We're gonna need a bigger shark.

Still, the art style is lovely and I like the vague sense of unease, and I’m expecting something truly horrible to happen at any moment. So that’s always a plus. (That it just might happen to Kyubey is, I will not lie, a contributing factor to my continued attendance.)

Boku Wa Tomodachi Ga Sukunai
I Don’t Have Many Friends
I like this. Far more than I was expecting to. Yozora is … really interesting. I like how the characters aren’t just quirky and funny but in fact deeply weird and with genuine flaws. That they’ve ended up alone requires absolutely no suspension of disbelief whatsoever.

If watching anime has taught me anything it's this: If you ever meet a girl with a cute little fang, run.

Also it made me laugh twice and made me go ‘hmm’ once, and did I mention how much I like Yozora’s voice? Definitely looking forward to more of this one.

Ouran Host Club: Drama
Yet more proof that live action is no substitute for the real thing.

Mirai Nikki
Future Diary
Everyone seems to be talking about this one, and with good reason. It’s creepy and interesting and the direction is excellent—most every part of it screams ‘yay’.

Or just screams.

Just about the only thing I dislike is the CG. Looking forward to more of this, if they can keep up the creepiness and put in some clever future diary antics I’ll be happy indeed.

Phi Brain: Kami No Puzzle
It is astonishing that a show about puzzles could be this stupid. Also I kind of hate the art style. Kind of hate it all to heck. I don’t even know why I watched this one, I guess things were just going that way.

Nichijou
Is insane.

To Aru Kagaku No Railgun
A Certain Scientific Railgun
Finally catching up with this. I like it a lot more than Index but it’s a bit too, I don’t know, slice-of-lifey and unfocused. Treats the wrong things as important, I guess is my main problem with it. Or not the WRONG things, exactly, but not the things I’d like it to be focusing on. Also I find Kuroko slightly irritating, at least whenever she’s not kicking arse with teleportation powers.

Not particularly representative, I suppose. Still, how could one resist?

All of that makes it sound like I don’t like the show much, but in truth I find it immensely entertaining (and I love the title). I just wish it was tighter regarding story—I know, I know, it’s MEANT to be a lighter more slice-of-lifey kind of thing. Even so.

Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood
I’m watching it again and it’s fantastic as ever.

Although ... although ...

So There You Have It
There are a couple of others I have my eye on, but for now my anime gauge has been refilled. I have no intention of letting it drop again, not with this many good shows to watch.

This is one of the tamer of Nichijou's skits. I'm not even joking.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Anime Madness

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Watching Anime So You Don’t Have To

  1. J.A. Beard

    October 20, 2011 at 09:05

    I miss not being to watch much anime (barely have time to even sleep lately), though the good thing is whenever I have stretches of actual free time (hahaha), I have less of the ‘I’ve seen everything factor’ like I did back in the day when . . . well I watched everything. 🙂

     
    • Ben White

      October 20, 2011 at 09:09

      That’s the nice thing about coming back into it after a year-long stretch of nothing much at all, it’s like a feast 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
