RSS

To The Author Person’s Surprise, His Attempt At Procrastination Failed!

15 Sep

Somehow, amazingly, despite the Most Unproductive Morning In The History Of All ThingsTM (yes, it was SO unproductive that I was forced to trademark it) (I don’t know how that works either), I wrote another six thousand words of Against Darker Days today. Days today. Days today. That’s not as awkward a word-combo as it seems it should be. (Unlike that sentence, hoi-o!) This one’s definitely gonna top two hundred thousand words, I’m already dreading the editing. (‘Dreaditing’, as it very much were.)

It did help that most of the words I wrote today involved characters I love kicked seven shades of arse. I also managed to reduce myself to a big weeping mess writing a death scene. Really didn’t want to kill that character. It’s even in the outline, “Arrrrgh I really don’t want to kill XXXXX. I really, really don’t. But I think I might have to. No no no no but it makes the story so much better if they die, but I like them so much arrrrrgh.”

(Yes, unfortunately this is an accurate representation of the general level of professionalism of my outlines. Actually, to be really honest, that’s a lot better than usual.)

Anyway, after wandering around the house for a little while sniffling and searching for tissues I managed to pull myself together and get through the rest of the scene. Not all sad scenes I write affect me like that, and to be honest I didn’t expect it of this one, but there you go. Emotions can be funny things.

So! Good productive day, in the end. I should have this first draft in the bag before the end of next week, and after that … I’m not sure, actually. I might toss a coin and start outlining either Fantasy Losers or Time Is But The Stream (I’m saving one for NaNo, just in case I’m not suddenly struck with inspiration on October 31st; I feel that notes are okay (for a NaNovel) but outlining beforehand is kind of cheating). Or I might just bum around for a while in the midst of a post-first draft funk, fiddling with covers and going back to read my favourite bits and generally practising the noble art of Faffery. It could go either way, really.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
