RSS

Doctor Who: Let’s Kill Hitler (g’wan, it’s fun) #SpoilersSweetie

28 Aug

I was going to do a Yay/Not So Yay but decided against it due to laziness. And then I decided to write about it anyway, so I don’t know. So! Let’s Kill Hitler, eh? Or as I’ve renamed it, Rory Kicks Some Arse: Well It’s About Bloody Time. Generally I liked this episode, but didn’t love it. Mels irritated the spit out of me to the point where my response to her getting shot was “Oh thank flipping goodness”. Liked Psychopath!River a lot more than Regular!River. Mostly what redeemed the episode for me was Rory (as usual), because basically everything he said or did was brilliant. Especially:

1 – Punching Hitler.
2 – Telling Hitler to shut up. Twice.
3 – Locking Hitler in a cupboard and then totally forgetting about him.

That is my absolute favourite thing about the entire episode. Rory locked Hitler in a cupboard … and that was it. He’s still in that cupboard, as far as the Doctor Who continuity is concerned.

Also, oh, you wouldn’t believe how much I wanted Donna Noble to be the Voice Interface. I miss her.

Also also, “I’m trapped inside a giant robotic replica of my wife. Oh, I’m really trying not to see this as a metaphor.”

Also also also, “Can you ride a motorbike?” “I expect so. It’s that sort of day.”

Also also ALSO also the next episode looks properly scary, so yay.

(PS the direction was great but the music was terrible.)

(PS PS:

)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2011 in Talking About Television

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Doctor Who: Let’s Kill Hitler (g’wan, it’s fun) #SpoilersSweetie

  1. theoncominghope

    August 30, 2011 at 05:04

    Great post!

    I wasted the entire morning pondering the many lives of River Song, and have come up with a timeline (of sorts) here:

    http://theoncominghope.blogspot.com/2011/08/many-lives-of-river-song-or-thinking.html

     
    • Ben White

      August 30, 2011 at 19:03

      Nice! That seems like the exact opposite of a waste of time, to me 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
