RSS

In Which The Author Person Gets Perhaps A Little Overexcited

04 Aug

All right! Time to set myself some new GOALS. One new goal, actually. Because to be honest, despite all of my slacking over the past few months, I’m still well ahead of my goals for this year. We’re only into August and I’m pretty much done! Well, that’s a slight exaggeration, but anyway. For the last wee while I’ve been working on Power Play, a tricky little bit of plot that is only now resolving itself. I say ‘resolving itself’ but what I actually mean is ‘starting to take shape thanks to hours and hours of hard thinking and working-things-through’. Sometimes plotting is easy. Sometimes it’s very, very difficult. This was not one of the easy times. Still, I have the ending now, I just have to connect it up to what I already have. ‘Just’. Haha.

Anyway, that’s only going to take a day or two, and then actually writing it will take, I don’t know, maybe a week at the most, more like a couple of days probably. So! What of the rest of the month, eh? Well, I’m glad you asked (and also that you went a bit British/Canadian/British-Canadian at the end there), because I’m going to write a novella! Not just that, but edit it! Not just that, but proof it! Not just that, but publish the ruddy thing! That’s right, it’s

THE SELF-IMPOSED BJK WHITE
WRITE-EDIT-PROOF-PUBLISH
A NOVELLA IN A MONTH
CHALLENGE

They called me mad, but it was mostly because of my hat. That’s right, I’m going to publish a novella before the end of the month! What’s it going to be about? Well, right now it’s about a single father and his adorable-yet-difficult young daughter and their fight to keep their house. This may change! (Although probably not that much.) I just started making notes today, I’m having fun! I’ve got a bit of series-fatigue at the moment, I shall definitely finish the Power Play first draft before the end of the month, aiming for a before-the-end-of-September release, but I really just want to write something completely new. A novella is exactly the answer! And because I have other things to do, it just makes sense to do it as

THE SELF-IMPOSED BJK WHITE
WRITE-EDIT-PROOF-PUBLISH
A NOVELLA IN A MONTH
CHALLENGE

And yes, every time I mention

THE SELF-IMPOSED BJK WHITE
WRITE-EDIT-PROOF-PUBLISH
A NOVELLA IN A MONTH
CHALLENGE

That’s how it’s going to come up. Now, in order to complete this goal I’m going to have to set some deadlines. To that end:

6th – Finished Outline
15th – Finished First Draft

This should give me ample time to format it and do my editing passes and proofs. I figure two days to edit 30k, the same for proofing, if I do three editing runs and three proofs that’ll plop me squarely on the 27th, with three days spare in case of Unforeseens. Wait, it’s August–thirty days hath September, April June and November–so, thirty-one days, FOUR days spare in case of Unforeseens. This should be easy. This should be fun. It’s like NaNoWriMo in August! Except only 30,000 words and they actually have to be good and it’s not just getting them out, it’s polishing them to a publishable standard and then publishing them!

I like this plan. I’m excited to be a part of it.

So! Without further ado, let

THE SELF-IMPOSED BJK WHITE
WRITE-EDIT-PROOF-PUBLISH
A NOVELLA IN A MONTH
CHALLENGE

Commence!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
