RSS

Japanese On The Kindle Part III: Tentative Success

14 Jul

After some fiddling and faddling and a touch of faffery, I’ve figured out what I was doing wrong re: displaying Japanese text on the Kindle. It’s really basic. It’s embarrassing to even admit, but here we go:

I forgot the UTF-8 meta tag.

I know! That’s a ridiculous thing to forget! But I’m sharing my error here so that others looking for guides on formatting HTML with Japanese text for the Kindle might learn from my silliness. So here we go:

A VERY BRIEF GUIDE TO FORMATTING JAPANESE HTML FOR THE KINDLE

1 – Don’t forget to add the proper UTF-8 meta tag like a big fule.
2 – THAT IS LITERALLY IT.

As long as your html file is in correct UTF-8 format (by which I mean you’ve got something very similar to <meta http-equiv=”Content-Type” content=”text/html; charset=utf-8″ /> in your header and you haven’t saved it as shift-jis or something), the Kindle will display your mobi file without a word of complaint–and it looks brilliant, too. I’m sure you’ll agree that this is very exciting.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Japanese On The Kindle Part III: Tentative Success

  1. Mark Williams International

    July 15, 2011 at 20:26

    Exciting isn’t the word for it!

    I’m off to start learning Japanese so I can translate our books and make use of this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
