RSS

Some Sales, Some Writing, Basic Miscalculation

27 Jun

There are some odd coincidences going on with Charlotte Powers right now, regarding sales and actual writing. Ever since I made the decision to put the sequel to Birds Of Passage aside and focus on getting the first draft of Power Play written, I’ve been getting a steady sale a day for Power Down. Today I had three sales, which means that in this month I’ve sold more copies of Power Play than in all previous months put together. This is great, of course, although apparently the success of one of my books must come at the cost of my other books, as it’s the worst sales month I’ve ever had for everything else.

Anyway, the actual writing is going well, although there’s probably too much dialogue in there. At least fifteen percent of my editing consists of cutting out characters agreeing with each other and getting really excited that they’re agreeing with each other. I may also have to trim down some of the stuff I’ve written, it depends how it feels once I finish the first draft and do an editing pass. Last night I started reading back what I’ve written on Against Darker Days and was pleasantly surprised–I just stormed through the beginning parts without regard to pace or structure and so was expecting a mess, but it reads well and the pacing is good. I was worried that it’d be too slow, but if anything it’s too fast–I could actually put MORE dialogue in. That’s crazy, that’s never happened to me before.

Oh, also, I made a basic mathematical error, I’ve no idea how–this ISN’T my sixth month as an indie author, it’s only my fifth. Haha. I don’t know how I miscounted, but there you have it.

Also, I think I’m going to build a proper website. I can syndicate my bjournal to it, and the layout will be how I want it to be. Proper book pages and that sort of thing. It’ll be pretty. I don’t think it’ll affect sales or anything like that, it’s just something I’ve been thinking about for a while and made a firm decision about; I want a proper website.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Some Sales, Some Writing, Basic Miscalculation

  1. Gemma

    June 27, 2011 at 20:18

    i think a website would be awesome

     
  2. Mark Williams International

    June 29, 2011 at 20:35

    Charlotte Powers is just great, Ben. Keep the sequel in the same style and it will be marvellous.

    What I really like about it is that it feels like it was written by a fifteen year old. Or should I say, through the eyes of a fifteen year old.

    My only worry about Charlotte 2 (or rather, Charlotte Powers 2, so as not to confuse with Charlotte 2 in book one) is that you might let her grow up and become a boring sixteen year old.

     

Leave a Reply

 
