RSS

Game of Thrones Episode Eight – The Pointy End #Spoilers

06 Jun

Goodness! What an eventful day. Just as well I have a nice new episode of Game of Thrones to relax with. Live yay/not-so-yaying begins … now.

Yay

Immediate Arya, nice juxtaposition, Syrio takes out like six armed guards with a wooden training sword, “Not today”, fantastic opening.

“Hello. My name is Syrio Forel. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” Well, not really. But almost as good 🙂

Ned Stark is the poster child for ‘Honour Before Reason’. I’ll be surprised if he lives past this episode.

“Someone must.” Varys is very good, isn’t he? Well not GOOD but you know what I mean. I do hope he isn’t killed horribly or anything. Although that ‘hope’ comes without much hope, if you get my drift.

Sansa alone in a room with Cersei and Littlefinger, there’s absolutely no way this can end well.

“If I’m going to die, it may as well be with a song in my heart.” and every subsequent line in that scene. Tyrion and Bronn, the original odd couple. I think I would’ve been happy with just a whole episode of them walking along and chatting.

Or just an episode of Tyrion being really clever, that’d also do me nicely.

Probably shouldn’t have enjoyed hysterical fingers-just-been-bitten-off laughter so much, but I did.

Enjoying brigand girl a lot. I think I just like that kind of character. Also, I don’t normally enjoy religion in stories like this but all the old gods/new gods stuff is interesting and handled well. Very nicely done.

Suddenly, a GIANT NAKED HODOR appears. Is this yay? Y/Y

“Timett, son of … Timett.”

“You wouldn’t know ‘im.” Bronn is excellent.

The Lannisters appear to have employed a young Tom Cruise as their scout.

I love Varys doing his best to save Ned without putting his own neck on the line in the slightest.

I’ve read in many places how people hate Sansa, but I can’t feel anything but pity for the poor child. She’s just in over her head with so little understanding of what’s going on. I’m hoping that she’ll have a chance to redeem herself, to grow into a strong, capable young woman, to turn the tables on her manipulators … but I don’t know. She may not get that chance. I think that probably she’ll be at least partly responsible for her father’s death (which is fairly assured at this point, unless some massive game-changing twist is in store for us), but whether that breaks her or forges her into something stronger remains to be seen. As I’ve found myself saying a lot lately, I think I’m a more idealistic writer than George R. R. Martin; where I see an opportunity for redemption, he may see … something else 🙂

Not So Yay

Arya’s innocence lost. Not the moment itself, but how quickly it passed (also acting, also editing). And naturally I would’ve liked to have seen more of her determined escape. Maybe next episode? Here’s hoping. (Prediction? Arya flees into a forest, she’s pursued by goons, she valiantly tries to fight them off, there’s a hope spot before Needle is forced from her hand and she possibly sustains a minor injury, then her banished wolf shows up to save the day and it is AWESOME.)

Dany’s back to kind of sort of irritating me a little bit. Drogo, on the other hand, is pretty badass.

War scenes were rushed and unsatisfying. I know, I know, constraints of the medium. I’m not disappointed or complaining, but they weren’t particularly ‘yay’.

Tyrion having to fight … I don’t know, it seems a little gimmicky.

Dialogue in this episode seems a little, what, stiff? Not as lively or fun as in previous episodes, with the exception of Tyrion and Bronn.

Kind of a mediocre final scene, especially in comparison with the final scenes of previous episodes.

And So

Great start, but then kind of fizzled out a little bit. Don’t get me wrong, a solidly entertaining hour of television with some necessary set-ups, but not a lot of pay-off. I’m sure that’ll come, though. I have to admit, I think I enjoyed the slower episodes more, the ones that focused on character development more than plot. But then, I love characters 🙂

Something else I like is dramatic irony, and I think a heaping cauldron of the stuff is bubbling away in the background. Everyone’s busy playing the Game of Thrones and no one’s paying attention to what’s going on beyond The Wall. Even the more conventional threat of the Dothraki, only Varys seems concerned about them. Cersei is good at manipulation, but how would she fare in an actual war? I’m looking forward to finding out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Talking About Television

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
