RSS

Please Don’t Say You Are Lazy; Datte Hontou Wa Crazy

29 May

There’s absolutely no reason for that post title aside from the fact that this line has been running through my head all day. Also I’ve been muttering lines from Motteke Sailor-Fuku to myself all week, I’m not sure what that’s about. Maybe anime OPs are like LSD and if you listen to them too often you get flashbacks for years afterwards.

Still working away at Resonance Book Two: Against Darker Days. Up to 145k and almost at the beginning of the end, so I’d say around 180k – 200k to finish. I may cut out some scenes, though. Not sure. After this first draft is finished I have to set it aside for a while. It’s a big, involved book with a lot going on, and I need distance before I read it through again to make sure it all works. Lots of characters running around all doing their own thing–as long as I can keep everyone’s motivations clear I think it’ll be easy to follow. Pacing is also an issue, there’s a balance between moving things forward and allowing characters time to develop. I suspect I’ve been a little self-indulgent as far as letting characters talk to each other is concerned, I think on my first actual objective read-through I’ll be yelling at myself to just get things moving in more than one scene. That’s okay, though, that’s what second drafts are for.

Anyway, I’m very much looking forward to getting this one finished, maybe another week or so and it’ll be done and I can move on to something else, most likely Charlotte Powers 2. (I’ve been in such a superheroes mood lately.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Please Don’t Say You Are Lazy; Datte Hontou Wa Crazy

  1. George

    May 29, 2011 at 17:33

    CP2? Can’t wait. I’ve been meaning to ask, have you taken a look at WtC? I like the way you handle dialogue and would love your opinion on how natural the dialogue in WtC sounds.

     
    • Ben White

      May 30, 2011 at 00:21

      I just finished it the other day, coincidentally. I’d say the dialogue is natural, particularly for your principles, but I would’ve liked to see more flashes of individual personality and longer conversations in general–there were places where I felt necessary information had been exchanged, but nothing more than that. I also would’ve liked to have seen more about the relationships between the different characters, shown through dialogue. For example, I was never really sure how Hope felt about Ajax, or how Ajax felt about Hope. Maybe they didn’t particularly think anything of each other, but it would’ve been nice to listen in on a conversation or two between them (and other members of the team). Oh, and Maui, to me, seemed more Hawaiian than Maori, the way he talked wasn’t particularly ‘New Zealand’ or ‘Maori’.

      But I might not be the person to ask, since I love dialogue–reading or writing–and often go too far in the other direction, having characters talk to each other far too much just because I’m enjoying their conversations 🙂 My advice (for better or worse) would always be, “Yes! More talking! More conversations!”

       
  2. George

    May 30, 2011 at 01:36

    Yeah, I had to cut a lot of dialogue–my original draft was 110,000 words, and the final draft was 90,000!

     

Leave a Reply

 
