RSS

Game of Thrones Episode 5 – The Wolf And The Lion #Spoilers

17 May

Yay

Have I mentioned how much I love the opening? Probably not enough, I love the opening. It’s fantastic. The music, the clockwork map, the sweeping camera, everything. I’ve read in a few places about how it’s too long, but frankly I could stand for it to be longer, even. Every time I watch it I like it more. Brilliant opening. Perfect. All you naysayers can go stand in a corner and read episode recaps if you’re worried about things being too long.

Actually, something else I probably haven’t said enough good things about is the music for this show, because it’s brilliant.

The casting? The casting. Is there some kind of award for casting? Because if there’s an award for casting, it should go to the people who did the casting for Game of Thrones. And if there isn’t an award for casting then somebody should MAKE one, JUST so it can be given to the people who did the casting for this show.

The tracking shot from outside the tent to the jousting field was lush.

Also YAY more jousting, I do hope there’s some hand-to-hand too.

King Mark Addy Bastardpants. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again; tremendously entertaining.

Ooh the Knight of the Flowers is ever-so-pretty.

LITTLEFINGER YESSSS.

OH MY GOODNESS FLOCK OF SEAGULLS HORSE:

FAR OUT THE DUDE JUST CHOPPED A HORSE’S HEAD OFF INTENSE

Ahhh they brought the bard! Classic.

TYRION SHIELD STOMP!

Oh yeah, this show is just soooooo slow, isn’t it. Nothing ever happens. It’s completely boring, actually. WRONG THIS IS THE BEST THING ON TV.

This episode was made specifically for me, I’m sure of it.

NICE exposition (Note: Totally sincere here, if you’re going to exposit then make it interesting, tie it into character and story, and have a guy practising archery in the background. This is just grand.)

Baldy advisor guy continues to entertain and impress.

You know, I think this may be the first time I’ve ever seen dragons done right on screen. I know they’re only skulls, but still, the appropriate sense of terror and majesty is there. Sometimes less is more. And sometimes MORE is more. I honestly did not expect them to be so big.

“Trust me.” Ahaha.

“Strictly speaking.” AhaHAhaha.

Oh I love this scene. Oh I love these two characters together. “One shudders at the thought.” If Littlefinger wasn’t behind the assassination attempt it had better be somebody pretty damn spectacularly surprising or I’m going to be disappointed. (Note: DON’T TELL ME I WANT TO LOOK SURPRISED WHEN IT HAPPENS.)

People mistaking Arya for a boy and her protesting otherwise is NEVER going to get old.

“I like you.” Impeccable delivery as always, from the mighty Peter Dinklage.

Love how the council actually, y’know, counsels.

OH MY EYE SCREAM. I get the feeling I’m going to be doing this:

/(OoO)\

… at least once an episode from now on, although in this case it was actually:

/(-oO)\

Nice fighting. By which I mean not nice at all fighting, pretty bloody awful fighting actually if you want to get into it. But still, nice.

Not So Yay

“I don’t think the widow’s life would suit her.” Horrible sense of foreshadowing at play here; my writer’s sense is tingling.

Clean your sword, sir. Clean your sword.

SEVEN DAYS IS SO VERY LONG TO WAIT.

And So

Best episode yet by MILES. Totally amazingly brilliantly splendid. So good that I have nothing more to say, except perhaps for this:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in Talking About Television

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
