RSS

Doctor Who S06E04 – The Doctor’s Wife #Spoilers

15 May

Yay

Loved how it felt like one of the old serials, the whole ‘three locations and four characters on the whole planet’ thing, it had that wonderful claustrophobic feeling I always associate with Doctor Who (and Sapphire & Steel, come to think of it).

“Biting’s excellent. It’s like kissing only there’s a winner.”

“Don’t we all?” Perfect delivery by Matt Smith.

“Only when we’re alone.” Another great delivery.

“I am thinking that all my sisters are dead, and that we are looking at their corpses.”

“Look at that, perfect, what could possibly go wrong?” *sproing*

Rory is the pretty one.

I have to admit, I got all, ooh, nostalgic at the old control room.

“Did you wish really hard?”
“Shut up, not like that…”

“Hello, Doctor. It’s so very, very nice to meet you.” *sob*

Doctor goggles YAY.

Bunk beds!

Not So Yay

Basically everything with Amy and Rory stuck in the Tardis. It had potential but turned out to be kind of dull.

On a related note, I’m getting pretty sick of the false tension in Doctor Who. Stop pretending you’re going to kill Rory! THAT CARD HAS BEEN PLAYED.

House’s voice.

“I love you.” Blech. I thought they were doing very well to avoid that but no, there it was, snuck in at the end. Boo.

No eyepatch lady! I thought the bit where Rory and Amy were running around would’ve been a perfect place to sneak one in, but no. So slightly disappointed about that.

Pointless Ood.

And So

Not a great episode, but not a bad one either. Some nice lines and although The Doctor getting to talk to the Tardis didn’t quite live up to expectations it was still fun and emotional. Also, “The only water in the forest is the river” … Song? Ooh wait a minute, wait just a minute, “FOREST of the Dead”? Hints that the ‘final meeting’ between River Song and The Doctor in that episode might not have been quite so FINALLY final after all? Interesting …

Other than that, I don’t really have much to say aside from ‘onto the next’! Which doesn’t look particularly spectacular, to be honest, but let’s just wait and see, shall we?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Doctor Who S06E04 – The Doctor’s Wife #Spoilers

  1. Mo

    May 16, 2011 at 06:26

    Not a great episode!?

    Man, your standards must be insanely high, cause that was by far the best and most epic Doctor Who episode I’ve ever seen (granted, this is only my second season, so maybe that’s why). Wow! I loved how Gaiman packed so much material into so short a time, but really packed a punch with the deep important/emotional stuff (the relationship between the Doctor and the Tardis). Not to mention all the great lines, which you pointed out. Gadzooks (thought I’d use an old fashioned word for fun)!

     
    • Ben White

      May 16, 2011 at 12:21

      I’m really in the minority on this one! I’ve been seeing huge amounts of love for the episode ever since I watched it. I think my main problem was that when you stripped it down, what was the plot? “Doctor gets distress signal, turns out it’s a trap, there’s very little tension and everything is fixed by magic.” Don’t get me wrong, this is a classic Doctor Who formula and one I enjoy, but it just didn’t click for me this time. Some nice lines, but nothing amazing. Nothing surprising. So that’s why it’s a good episode, but not, for me, a great one; it didn’t surprise me. It ticked all the boxes nicely, but did nothing exceptional.

       
      • Mo

        May 16, 2011 at 17:57

        Yeah, I guess it didn’t surprise me all that much either, but it was still really cool! I don’t demand to be surprised for every episode of every TV show I watch. *Sits in front of TV* “Surprise me, dammit!”

         

Leave a Reply

 
