RSS

What, Me Worry?

14 May

Here’s something interesting I just noticed today; I no longer worry about sales. I’d like more, it’s true, and I have the feeling that this month will be the first in which I have less sales than the month before, but even so, I’m not worried. This led on to a second realisation; I don’t really mind if I never become a ‘success’. I’m happy with how things are going–I’m selling around a book a day, I’m forging ahead with my writing and because publishing is so simple and comfortable, that gives me a solid goal to aim for rather than just ‘writing for myself’ (which I’m still doing, but it’s nice to be able to so easily share what I’ve written for myself with others). Additionally, there’s always the chance, however small, that my books could take off and I could become a conventional success. From this perspective, I can’t really think of anything negative about my current situation.

Anyway! I’ve started a new giveaway for Imogen Shroud, this being Zombie Awareness Month and all (apparently). I’ve discovered that I really enjoy writing the little ‘giveaway description’ things for that site.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “What, Me Worry?

  1. Laura Watts

    May 14, 2011 at 21:01

    I know exactly how you feel Ben. Sales are so unpredictable, and even with the best marketing in the world there’s no guarantee of success. However much we like to think we can control what the outcome will be, we can’t. So it’s best not to dwell and just focus on writing. If your work doesn’t continue to sell well then try another type of writing/genre.
    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/54060

     
    • Ben White

      May 14, 2011 at 21:06

      Haha, I’m far too bloody-minded to change 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
