RSS

Bird, Plane, Superman, What?

14 May

A somewhat random thought came to me today, about Superman and the whole “It’s a bird … it’s a plane … it’s Superman!” thing. Perhaps I can best demonstrate with a picture:

Please excuse the crudity of this model, I didn’t have time to build it to scale or to paint it. As a follow-up to this picture, let me present a challenge question:

Which three things-that-fly look very little alike?

An acceptable answer would be: a bird, a plane, Superman. How often have you mistaken a plane for a bird, or vice-versa? And when you throw Superman into the mix, well, all I have to say is that perhaps Metropolis should be renamed Myopolis. Optometrists must do a roaring trade there.

Is all of this a clever lead-in to something writing-related? Would that it was! Very little to report, just chug-chug-chugging away on first draft things for Resonance Book Two: Against Darker Days. I’ve noticed an odd and unproductive habit of mine regarding outlines; I don’t outline the start of my stories. I just write down a lot of excited notes and then find focus around two scenes in, leaving the beginning vague and unplanned. The closer I get to the end of the book, the more focused and detailed the outline becomes–in fact, there are several scenes near the climax of the storylines that are practically already written, because there are precise things that need to happen (also cool lines, awesome actions etc). This probably ties in to my personal preference for endings, rather than beginnings, but it certainly makes starting a first draft more difficult than it should be. As usual, I’ll stick to my motto–“Just Keep Writing!”–and plow on through until I manage to connect the vague with the solid. And stop mucking around making Bird-Plane-Superman comparison images, that’s hardly a productive use of my time. (Fun, though.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2011 in Just Other Stuff, Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
