RSS

Game of Thrones Episode Four – Cripples, Bastards and Broken Things (Spoilery Review)

09 May

With an episode title like that you just know you’re in for some fun.

Yay

Let’s just get this out of the way; Tyrion.

The use of music in this series is just superb. Never overplayed, often so subtle you don’t even notice it. Very, very well done.

Crow with a third eye! Creepy!

Harry Lloyd finally gets some good scenes.

Baldy advisor guy, he does a lot with a little.

“I hear you’re reading a boring book!” That line should not have worked, but it made me giggle for ages. Littlefinger is tremendously entertaining. Did anyone else say it along with him, “No, she’s one of mine”? I really get how he thinks, one of my favourite kind of characters. Very much looking forward to more from him.

Sam, although I fear for his future. His scene with Jon near the end was great. “What, that good?” “Better.” “Oh, n-no, heh.” That was adorable.

“It’s an exceedingly clever nickname.” Ahahaha.

Holy goodness THAT bit. The bit that made Arya go:

… and which made me go:

/(OoO)\

And on that note …

Not So Yay

NOT ENOUGH ARYA.

Now that I have seen the Bran-Steve Coogan resemblance, I cannot unsee it.

Kind of felt like Arya’s scene with her father could have been a little better. It felt too curt and didn’t really flow. I don’t know, you want things to go one way and they go another, it’s nit-picky but there you have it.

I have the awful feeling that characters I’m enjoying are going to be killed in horrible ways.

Still just not feeling Dany. If she gets killed in a horrible way my reaction would be, “Good, more time for more interesting characters.”

It’s a whole WEEK until the next one.

And So

Overall I felt that this episode wasn’t quite as strong as last week’s. Having said that, it was fantastic. The pacing on this series is just perfect, they’re giving us enough time with the characters to get to know them before introducing new faces, and the rate at which the show feeds us new information is splendidly judged. I also like how seeds are planted early, Tyrion’s scene with Greyjoy early on is a good example, clearly he’s a character who’s going to be properly introduced later and so we’re slowly being shown his face, we’re slowly being allowed to place him in context with the other characters, really, it’s so nice when a show is this well managed. I feel in such safe hands, and I’m happy to sit back and let the show take me where it may.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Talking About Television

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Game of Thrones Episode Four – Cripples, Bastards and Broken Things (Spoilery Review)

  1. Mo

    May 9, 2011 at 22:47

    Yeah pretty good episode. I think Sam is one of my favourite characters now (I guess I feel sympathetic for the guy), I hope he survives. The last scene with Tyrion was pretty awesome too!

     
    • Ben White

      May 9, 2011 at 22:54

      When Sam showed up I kind of went “Argh okay don’t get too attached to this guy DON’T get too attached to this guy” but you just can’t help but like him. I hope things turn out okay for him, although having said that I don’t, actually, have much hope of that happening at all. Still, it’d be nice if he didn’t die horribly. Although he probably will.

      And yes, that last scene, very nicely played by Lady Stark nee Tully! I loved Tyrion’s face in that scene, as he tried to figure out what she was up to, subtly played by the always amazing Peter Dinklage. If he doesn’t get an Emmy then there’s going to be trouble.

       
      • Mo

        May 9, 2011 at 23:06

        Yeah, it sucks when they throw a likable character at you that you know will probably meet an unfortunate demise.

        At this point I have to say that Game of Thrones is a better show than Doctor Who.

         
  2. Mo

    May 9, 2011 at 23:12

    You might be interested in this interview with Dinklage, btw! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4elml_5Udw

     
    • Ben White

      May 9, 2011 at 23:27

      Haha, he really wanted to call that interviewer ‘stupid’, you could tell, remarkable self-control when she mentioned Harry Potter. Classy guy and an intelligent actor, I think the producers of GoT are lucky to have him and we’re lucky to watch him.

       
      • Mo

        May 9, 2011 at 23:30

        Yup, definitely one of the best actors on the show, if not the best!

         
  3. Nick Davis

    May 10, 2011 at 05:29

    Sorry, I’m trying very hard to enjoy Game of Thrones, but I’m failing. Its frustrating because it has all the elements I like in story, but I’m not connecting to it.

    I also feel like I’m in the minority here.

    Is there just too many characters?

    Do we need that two common men that we had in Rome like Lucius Vorenus and Titus Pullo. So when all the high political stuff is happening, we have something we can relate too, with two commentators who stood outside the great and the good.

     
    • Ben White

      May 10, 2011 at 14:37

      No need to apologise, not everything’s for everyone! If I can’t relate to the characters I have a hard time reading or watching anything, I have to feel some sort of empathy with them or there’s just no point for me. With GoT I feel particularly connected with Arya, Jon Snow, Tyrion, Littlefinger and now Sam. But if that connection’s just not there, there’s not much you can do about it.

       
    • Mo

      May 11, 2011 at 09:32

      I think the Night’s Watch is where we’ll find a lot of our common “everyman” characters. Sam is pretty common, for instance, hopefully they’ll bring in some more commoners into the mix.

       

Leave a Reply

 
