RSS

LibraryThing Giveaways: Numbers & Reflection

08 May

Well, I’ve had a few late responses, but all in all I think I can consider my first two LibraryThing giveaways ‘finished’. So! How did they go? First I’m going to throw some numbers at you, then I’m going to talk a little about the experience.

The Boy & Little Witch (25 copies offered in PDF or Mobi format)
Giveaway ran for two weeks, gathered around 140 interested persons in that time.
Responses to initial ‘bulk’ email: 17/25
PDFs requested: 8
Mobis requested: 9
Sales since giveaway ended (one week ago): 1 (previously 1 over three months)

Resonance Book One: Birds Of Passage (25 copies offered in PDF or Mobi format)
Giveaway ran for a week, gathered around 80 interested persons in that time.
Responses to initial ‘bulk’ email: 19/25
PDFs requested: 14
Mobis requested: 5
Sales since giveaway ended (one week ago): 4 (previously 9 over three months)

I actually don’t have all that much to say about the giveaways, except that they were fun and easy (once I got over a few initial hurdles, mostly to do with registration), and that for the princely sum of zero dollars and the investment of a couple of hours work, I got a lot of exposure. Thirty-six more copies of my books are now out there in the big wide world, and I can’t think of a single negative thing about that. This, to me, feels like active, useful promotion, the kind I don’t mind doing one little bit. So! I have another giveaway up now, for Miya Black I this time (since II is already out and I’ll publish III this month, I thought it was a good time to spread the word). I’ve upped the number of copies to 35, but I don’t think I’d go much higher than this. I didn’t mind sending out the emails, that’s fun, but it’s still a minute here, a minute there, it eats away at your time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 8, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
