RSS

Game of Thrones Episode Two – The Kingsroad (spoilers!)

25 Apr

All right, no fooling around this time. I’ve been thinking about Game of Thrones all week and the second episode did not disappoint one bit. I’ve read about twenty pages of the books, and that’s all I’m going to read, at least until the series is finished. I’m enjoying watching this story unfold, and I don’t want to know what happens next.

Yay:

Peter Dinklage is awesome, Tyrion is awesome. If he dies horribly I’m going to be upset. His interactions with the kids at the breakfast table alone were brilliant. I also love how amused he is by Jon Snow.

Joffrey is a complete prat. If he dies horribly I’ll be the opposite of upset. (This goes in yay because, hey, we all like seeing prats get slapped around by Peter Dinklage, don’t we?)

Splendid direction. Just splendid. Especially in the (fantastic) assassination scene.

Arya. “I can be quick”, yesss. Love her.

The king and Stark. Great friendship. Love the dynamic between them. Mark Addy turns out to be a brilliant actor, who would’ve guessed?

Not So Yay:

Serious accent slippage for most of the actors. Many of them don’t seem to have decided just what kind of accent they’re attempting.

Cannot quite make myself care about Daenerys. Also, foreshadowing with the dragon eggs just slightly overplayed.

Such a shame that girls aren’t allowed to enjoy this. (Complaints in writing to the New York Times, if you please.)

That’s all, it was great!

And So:

If Joffrey doesn’t turn out to be Pretty Incest Queen and Pretty Incest Brother’s son I’ll eat one of my hats, that’s far too juicy a tidbit for any decent writer to resist–and it’s clear that George R. R. Martin is a very decent writer, at least as far as story is concerned.

Although overall the pacing was good, I thought a few scenes dragged a little. Still, minor complaint–and I’d rather something be slightly-too-slow than slightly-too-fast. Also, this episode did well in focusing on just a couple of characters, and the shifts in focus worked nicely. No trouble at all keeping track of anything. Appreciated the lack of a ‘previously on Game of Thrones…’, being given some credit is always nice. All in all, that was a great way to spend an hour and I’m really looking forward to episode three.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Talking About Television

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Game of Thrones Episode Two – The Kingsroad (spoilers!)

  1. Redhead

    April 26, 2011 at 01:14

    the actor who plays Robb? yeah, major accent slippage! it was funny!

    as usual and as expected, Peter Dinklage steals every scene he’s in. Dude just rocks.

    Having read the books, they are skipping a TON of backstory, and lots of little characterizationd details. I highly suggest finishing the first book, just so you’ve got more background. It’ll be spoilers yes, but it’ll be OK.

     
    • Ben White

      April 26, 2011 at 10:16

      Catch-22 there, if I read the books I’ll realise all the stuff I’m missing, if I just watch the show I’ll miss stuff but won’t know … tough choice, but for now I’ll throw my hat in the ‘ignorance’ ring 🙂 Watching the show, I don’t feel like I’m missing anything, and I usually skip backstory in books anyway. Plus, spoilers, ugh … no, I like being surprised by the show and speculating with purity. But I might have another go at reading the first one after this season has finished.

       
      • Kim

        May 5, 2011 at 08:43

        They’re doing a fantastic job for the newbies. Simply fantastic. Don’t worry if you don’t know the names of everyone on screen at all times… (some will be more important later, but you’ll probably remember them anyhow)

         
        • Ben White

          May 5, 2011 at 09:30

          Absolutely, I don’t feel lost at all. It’s a bit like The Wire, you get exposed to all of these characters and eventually you know all their names and who they are.

           
  2. Mo

    April 26, 2011 at 09:35

    I agree re: Joffrey. He is a complete prat, I hope he dies a nasty death at some point (probably won’t be before he manages to screw a few people over though).

     
    • Ben White

      April 26, 2011 at 10:17

      That’ll just make it all the sweeter! Really, he’s just destined for a nasty fate, you don’t have a character that’s so irredeemably prattish without a satisfying comeuppance.

       
      • Mo

        April 26, 2011 at 11:09

        Unless George R.R. Martin did the whole character development thing with Joffrey and gives him some good traits (it’s been a while since I read the first book in the series), but I kinda doubt that will happen.

         

Leave a Reply

 
