RSS

The Best Day Off I Ever Had

17 Apr

Today it’s like the universe is saying “Gosh, you’ve been working hard lately–I’ll tell you what, I’m going to give you the best day off you’ve ever had just as a little reward”. Fantastic museum visit, Miyario was cute and so well-behaved and so interested in everything, and the whole thing seemed almost like it had been put on specially for me, geared entirely towards what I was interested in (lots of great things about life aboard ships, what they ate, where they slept, how much gossiping went on etc.) (no secrets aboard a colony ship, no sir) (also one brilliant bit where the captain started a kind of bet, everyone put in a shilling and whoever was taking the watch when they spotted New Zealand got them all, and at the end it was the captain who won–you can just imagine it, can’t you? “Jenkins, take a break, you’ve been working too hard lately, I’ll take this watch. Oh look, there’s New Zealand! Ho ho, what a coincidence, eh?”), and then we went to a bookshop and I got to look at covers for a while, and after that the radio played all songs I liked, and at one point I was thinking “Gosh I’d love to hear Whole Of The Moon” and the VERY NEXT SONG was “Whole Of The Moon”, that’s so unlikely that I can’t even begin to think how you’d calculate the possibility of it happening, and I got a really nice message out of nowhere from a stranger, not about my books but it was lovely anyway, and the weather was perfect and all the Autumn colours are coming out and goodness gracious me this might be the longest run-on sentence I’ve ever written.

So anyway, great day off! The BEST day off.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in Just Other Stuff

 

Tags:

One response to “The Best Day Off I Ever Had

  1. Mo

    April 17, 2011 at 17:07

    Glad you had a good day, I well deserved break! Take some more time off to reinvigorate the creativity.

     

Leave a Reply

 
