RSS

The Alternate Covers of Imogen Shroud

05 Apr

Seeing as I worked extra-hard to finish the editing run of Miya Black III yesterday, today I’m taking it easy with some nice relaxing cover work. I’m still not completely happy with the Imogen Shroud cover, I think it needs tweaking and fiddling to make it really good, but I think the basic concept is sound. Here’s what I came up with today:

There’s not that much difference between the two, just a texture overlay on the second and some minor colour adjustments. It’s interesting, to me, designing covers for Kindle books–I’m constantly thinking “Yes, but how will it look in a thumbnail?”. Details become less important, it’s the composition, the shapes, the clarity of the title and design elements, you really have to focus on the basics.

I think I have to reposition that ‘of’ a little.

Anyway, I think I’ll put this aside for now and come back to it later with fresh eyes.

The font I used for this cover, by the way, is Grumble, by Blue Vinyl Fonts. I’m also using it for chapter headings throughout the book.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Alternate Covers of Imogen Shroud

  1. Mo

    April 5, 2011 at 16:57

    I like the red font, it stands out better!

     
    • Ben White

      April 5, 2011 at 17:50

      I think I might agree. Or do I? I’m feeling indecisive today. Or am I?

       

Leave a Reply

 
