RSS

Happiness, Gleedancing (totally a thing) (but nothing to do with Glee), Miya Black (nothing to do with Rebecca Black), Muffins

25 Mar

Ask me if I’m happy today. Ask ME if I am HAPPY today. Go on. Do it. Do it. Ask me. Do it.

Oh, you’re asking if I’m happy today? No, of course I’m not. Don’t insult me with your questions. “Happy” is far too weak a word, I am gleedancing today. Why? Because someone bought a copy of Miya Black II. Someone bought Miya Black and read it and liked it enough to want to read the next in the series. Do you know how amazing that is? How wonderful? It … it … it can’t be expressed. And I call myself a writer.

Every time this happens I want to just rush out Miya Black III, but I know it needs at last one more proofing run before I do that. There’s no sense in putting something out that’s not ready. These books marked as ‘first edition (unedited)’ irritate me beyond irritation, to me it’s wrong to do that. It’d be like selling muffins that you’re not sure are cooked, then expecting your customers to tell you about the gooey bits in the middle and the little bits of eggshell all through them. And then you don’t even give them a new muffin! Why? Oh, it’s because of Amazon’s weird system, you’d think they’d send everyone an updated copy of the .mobi file if the publisher changed it, but apparently they don’t even if you delete the old one from your Kindle and download it again. Baffling, I know, but oh well. All the more reason to get it right the first time. Which is not to say that I haven’t updated my .mobi files, I’ve caught a couple of minor errors (‘my’ instead of ‘me’, for example), but nothing gamebreaking.

Well, anyway. Still happy. See? This is my ‘happy’ face. And I have a fun-filled day of proofing-and-editing ahead of me, the sun is shining, weather is sweet, yeah. Make you want to move, your dancing feet, now.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 25, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Happiness, Gleedancing (totally a thing) (but nothing to do with Glee), Miya Black (nothing to do with Rebecca Black), Muffins

  1. Gemma

    March 25, 2011 at 16:27

    SO EXCITING!!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
