RSS

Omar Little, Prejudice, Independent Talent

24 Mar

Thinking more about swearing in The Wire, I don’t think Omar Little swore either. At least, I can’t remember him ever swearing. Does that say something? Maybe it does. A true badass doesn’t need to swear; they let their actions and their reputation speak for them.

Something I’ve seen a lot of lately that’s beginning to annoy me a little, is the prejudice against the quality of independently published books. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that all indie books are great. There is a whole heap of rubbish out there. But there is a whole heap of rubbish in the world of traditionally published books, too. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, indie authors did not invent bad writing. There was one article I read where an agent ‘proved’ the lack of quality in independent works by reading ten books. Even then, they judged one of them to be good and two to be acceptable. I think that’s a great hit ratio! Three out of ten books judged to be worthy, frankly I doubt you’d do any better with ten books from your local bookshop or library. Personally, I’ve found more good books in the last month–all from indie authors–than I did in the whole of last year. (I should qualify, when I say ‘found’ I mean new authors, not ones I already knew and loved.)

Eventually, this prejudice will fade. It has to, there’s just too much independent talent out there. Here are a couple of examples, books I’ve picked up in the last few days that have held my attention past the first few pages–which is rare for me, believe that. (I am notoriously picky.)

Ladies And Gentlemen … The Redeemers by Michael Scott Miller.

Blue Valley by Christine Rice.

I’m not going to try to ‘sell’ these books because I honestly don’t think they need it. Go follow the links, go download the samples, read them, and if you like what you see, buy them! Did I mention they’re only 99 cents each? (All right, so that was a LITTLE bit of selling.)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 24, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Omar Little, Prejudice, Independent Talent

  1. xtinerice

    June 7, 2011 at 06:42

    Thanks for the great mention!
    Just discovered it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
