RSS

I know all about that stuff, I’ve been exploited all my life

20 Mar

I had way too much fun and spent far, FAR too long making a fake crash output for Power Play today.

Also spent some time pacing around out on the deck while I thought about the format of the book. If I smoked I would’ve been smoking furiously while I paced. I may not make the change to third person after all. I may just keep it in diary format the whole way through. It may work. It would be a teeny-tiny bit gimmicky but it’s kind of a fun gimmick … what I’m worried about now is writing the whole thing and then realising it doesn’t work at all. But I guess I won’t know until it’s written, and at least I’ll HAVE a first draft then. Okay, I think I’ll just continue like I am.

Also, I had a look at my release schedule for this year and I’m well ahead of the game:

April – June
Miya Black, Pirate Princess III: Fractured Lives
The Undying Apathy Of Imogen Shroud

June – August
Charlotte Powers (2): Power Play

September – November
Miya Black, Pirate Princess IV: This Impossible World, This Impossible Girl

November – December
Resonance Book Two: Against Darker Days
The Legend Of Jean Scarlet: Swansong

At the rate I’m cracking through things now, I feel like I’ll easily get both ImoShrou and Miya Black III out before the end of April, and probably CP2 before the end of June. If I do manage to do that then, well, then that’ll be great. I’ll have to sit down and think about my goals for the second half of 2011. Miya Black IV’s already written and I’ve been through it three times on rewriting/editing runs. I’d say it could use another edit and then a proof or two and it’ll be ready. Very, very keen on getting that one published. Resonance Book Two … needs work. I’d say at least three months, maybe longer. Swansong, I’m not sure about. It might be a story I need to let simmer for a little longer before I have at it. I wrote the beginning about half a year ago and every time I look over it I think “This is just excellent” and I feel that the story’s very strong and the characters are great, but … because it’s a spin-off from the Miya Black series I’d really like for the Miya Black series to actually have kind of a fanbase before I release it. It stands on its own but if you read it before you read at least the first three Miya Black books you’d be spoiled for a couple of things–nothing big, just little things I’d like to keep surprises. I know these kind of tiny spoilers don’t bother most people, but to me that kind of thing is important. So I’m not sure, maybe I’ll write it this year–because it’s a story I want to tell–but hold off on publishing it until I see how things go. Also, I’m pretty keen on doing Mystery Kids now, I read what I have of it again today and there’s nothing about it I don’t love. I don’t think there’s so much of a market for middle grade fiction on the Kindle but who cares, it’s funny and screwball and kind of clever and the characters are fun and it’s pretty much everything I love writing. Maybe I’ll make a logo for it and see how that goes, I have kind of an idea in mind that I’d like to explore.

BJK Factoid #293: My favourite movie is The Blues Brothers, but Ghostbusters is so close a second as to make no odds.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 20, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “I know all about that stuff, I’ve been exploited all my life

  1. E.J. Apostrophe

    March 21, 2011 at 01:32

    I enjoy your prolific writing on this blog…continue pushing forward! And change the name already! LOL

     

Leave a Reply

 
