RSS

At Least My Mum Thinks I’m Cool

17 Mar

So apparently I can’t even GIVE my books away ahahahaha oh that’s kind of embarassing. No luck at all on the Amazon.com giveaway so far. But that’s okay, I’ll try something else. I don’t know what just yet, but it’ll definitely be very some, and it’ll definitely be very thing. And one thing’s certain; there is no way that it won’t be ‘else’.

Kindle and Non-Vampire-Based Young Adult Fiction; a bad match right now? I’m starting to think so.

BJK Factoid #97: I have never understood this fascination people have with vampires. Dracula is a great book, though. If you haven’t read it, you really should. Even if you think “Oh, it’s old, it’ll be dry and boring” you should give it a try, you might find yourself surprised. Also Dracula has this huge big white mustache, seriously, they never include that in the adaptations even though it’s completely awesome.

I strongly feel that if I wrote thrillers or romance novels or ANYTHING with vampires in it I’d be doing better, even if they were rubbish. I think those are the books a lot of people buy–‘mass appeal’, possibly. I’m assuming, here, because neither thrillers nor romances (nor especially vampires) hold any appeal for me whatsoever. I wonder if authors of literary fiction have the same problem? I just don’t think most people are that interested in Young Adult Fiction, despite it being great. Or maybe I’m just worthless hahahahaha no I’m kidding, I’m okay.

Maybe I’ll rebuild myself as a ‘Cult Indie Author’. I’m so hip that no one knows who I am. You know how many people have read my books? Some obscure number, I’m sure you’ve never heard of it.

But who cares about any of that. I’m reading through Imogen Shroud on my Kindle–I resize the OpenOffice document to 3″x4″ and change the margins to .1 a side then export to PDF, makes it nicely readable on the Kindle without having to fiddle around creating .mobi files before it’s finished–and feeling good. It’s a good story, the pacing is good, the characters are good, the writing is good. I’m very, very happy with it and can hardly wait to release it so it can be ignored like all of my other books. Haha, just kidding. (Seriously though, if this one doesn’t sell I’m giving up.) And I’m happy with how Power Play is going too, reading through the outline I have–some great little moments in there I’d completely forgotten about.

Basically, even if nobody else in the world likes what I write, I still do. Sometimes, that’s enough.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Of Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “At Least My Mum Thinks I’m Cool

  1. Joey Manley

    March 17, 2011 at 03:08

    Couple of suggestions:

    Link to your books everywhere you can. Even when you think you don’t really need to.

    I found you on Twitter last night (because you list yourself as a YA author working independently, and I’m trying to do the same thing — writing, specifically, male-oriented adventure SF — haven’t got anything out yet, but am working on my outline, and starting to poke around and look for other writers to network with).

    Started reading this post, saw that you had some books free on Amazon right now … would love to pick them up … and there’s no easy link. I probably would have even bought one, but definitely would have picked one up for free … if there had been an easy link. But there wasn’t!

    So … what’s that link?

    🙂

     
  2. Amy

    March 17, 2011 at 16:58

    I’ll read your book, Ben! I like you! I mean, I don’t know you, but I’m sure I would like you. (And if you want, I can do a giveaway.)

     
    • Ben White

      March 17, 2011 at 17:35

      Haha, thanks! Were you the sale I got this afternoon? 🙂 Right now I’ll gift my books to anyone interested, so maybe I’ll do a proper ‘giveaway’ post and you can link to that, or else just ask anyone interested to email me.

       
  3. Joey Manley

    March 18, 2011 at 01:58

    I see nothing to the right. I’m seeing this site in a very, very basic WordPress template with a blue header, and no sidebars at all. Am I supposed to be veiwing this somewhere other than writingiseaseir.wordpress.com? Maybe it’s encapsulated into another user interface somewhere else? I dunno …

     
  4. Joey Manley

    March 18, 2011 at 02:01

    Oh, wait, I see. And this is something you’ll want to look into.

    When I go directly to your blog homepage: http://www.writingiseasier.wordpress.com/ I see the sidebar.

    When I go directly to the post, there’s no sidebar:
    https://writingiseasier.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/at-least-my-mum-thinks-im-cool/

    Somehow I landed on the post, rather than the homepage, first, and never bothered to click back to the homepage.

    You’ll want to figure that out!

    I also recommend just linking inside any blog post, on the words themselves, when you mention your book, so that people reading your blog in RSS readers, or search results, or any number of other venues, where it is separated from the user interface you have chosen for it in the WordPress template management console, will still have a link!

     

Leave a Reply

 
